Skip to content

How to Get Big, Bodacious, Beautiful Brows

September 27, 2013

by Brittany Fischer

“Why let someone else do for you what you can do yourself? …Except in the case of eyebrow maintenance.” -Elle Woods, Legally Blonde

Ladies, I cannot stress enough the importance of the eyebrows. Bad brows can ruin an entire face–and really, take it from me, because I used to have this problem. Take a look:

brittany fischer bad eyebrows2

I know, I know–it was high school! Leave me alone! I figured it out eventually, and here’s how:

According to every diagram I’ve ever seen about eyebrows, you should start by taking a pencil and holding it straight against your nostril. Your eyebrow should come all the way out to touch the pencil without going beyond it. It’s that simple! But some of us aren’t as lucky as the lovely Cara Delevingne. Poor unfortunate souls!

Luckily there are plenty of ways to deal. My philosophy is, “Fake it ’til you make it,” which is to say: fill ’em in until you grow ’em in.

To fake it: There are a few ways to do it. If you are in a situation as dismal as I was in the photo above, you’re going to need a pencil or a shadow. And if you’re worried about drawing on your skin (it is a little bewildering, I know) a stencil is ideal. Anastasia makes a lovely stencil kit that goes for $20. Just find the shape that best matches your brows, and go ahead–fill ’em in! The key is to always go lighter than you think you should, both in terms of the shade and in terms of the amount you apply–this is a high risk endeavor, and if you fail, you will look like a clown. I use Anastasia’s brow pencil in the lightest shade available–it used to be called Ash Blonde but now it’s called Cool Taupe. I think it’s because they realized certain brunettes should be using that shade too. In general, I would warn against trying to match your eyebrows to your hair color; it’s really more about matching it to your skin tone, and the best way to figure it out is through trial and error. Now, if the shape of your eyebrows is okay, but they’re just  a little patchy, you’ve got it easy. All you really need to do is grab a Tinted Brow Gel, which looks a little like mascara. The process is similar too, just swipe the wand along your brows and voilà!

eyebrow stencils

Now comes the hard part. To make it: First, toss your tweezers. I know, you refuse, right? Then listen to me–if you’re keeping your tweezers in your bathroom, you have to SWEAR only to use them for the most absurdly out-of-place hairs! While you’re growing in your brows, they are going to look a little bit patchy and a lot bit awkward, and you just have to be willing to endure that. It’s worth it. Okay? Okay. I’m trusting you on this. For some of us, beautiful brows will grow in the second we stop plucking ourselves to death. Others have been cursed with waify little brows that simply refuse to fill out. If this sounds familiar, don’t fret. The second step is to purchase a growth serum of some sort. Several of my girlfriends and I have used NeuBrow and it truly worked wonders for each of us, but you have to be adamant about applying every single morning and night. It takes 5 seconds and it makes a world of difference. I don’t think the specific serum really matters–the formulas seem to be pretty similar across the board. I’ve also heard wonderful things about M2Brows and RapidBrow. Lash serums work too: Peter Thomas Roth makes a great one, and there’s always Latisse if you’re willing to splurge.

If you keep it up and don’t give up, you’ll see results! Seriously, here’s proof:

brittany fischer eyebrowsMuch better, aren’t they? I’m now going to try to grow them even FULLER. Yep, you heard me. Here’s my inspiration, courtesy of Cara’s Facebook page:

cara delevingne

What do you think? Can I do it? Should I do it? If you have any thoughts, let’s hear them!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    September 27, 2013 12:05 pm

    Mrs. Fischer gifted Bobbi Brown eyeshadow in grey (06) to me YEARS ago for exactly this purpose. Grey sounds weird but it works wonders! And powder is a nice gateway for those of us who are too scared to pick up the pencil, just be sure to get the eyebrow shadow brush along with it!

    • September 27, 2013 12:21 pm

      Glad to know you are still minding your brows! Mrs. Laurie Fischer (not to be confused with Miss Brittany Fischer) always knows what’s up!

  2. Sophia permalink
    September 27, 2013 2:18 pm

    You look beautiful either way obvi, but you should do it anyway just because why not? You can always make them thinner again. And also you should make me do it. I really need you beauty advisor 😳

    • September 27, 2013 3:27 pm

      you SHOULD do it! you could probably get cara’s brows in like 3 days! and if we both look like groucho marx then we can go get them waxed/threaded/whatever-you-kids-are-doing-these-days together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

