Skip to content

Rockin’ the Runway: Lipstick Looks from NY Fashion Week

September 18, 2013

by Brittany Fischer

First, can we just talk about selfies for a sec? I have to say, I find them to be the most absurdly narcissistic phenomenon. We all know a few girls who seem to post a selfie every time they do their makeup and hair, and I feel like the caption is always the worst part. It’s usually something ridiculous like, “Bored at work” or “Missing my dog” or “So tired right now.” It’s like, are you serious? You clearly did not take this photo because you are tired. You took it because you’re feeling too hot to trot. So I’d like to start a revolution, right here and right now: why not just be blunt about selfies and caption them truthfully? How about, “I’m loving the way my eye makeup looks today,” or “I feel like a total sex pot in this dress,” or “How amazing does my skin look après facial”? I’m still not psyched about the modern day self-portrait, and I think it’s supremely awkward and very vain, but I think an honest approach might help, no?

All this said, I sampled the crazy colored lippies seen on the runway at NY Fashion Week, and I felt it only fair to show you my results—so here you are my loves: the good, the bad, and the ugly. First, here are the pics that inspired me, courtesy of the New York Fashion Week Facebook page (top left: DKNY, top right: 3.1 Phillp Lim, bottom left: Zac Posen, bottom right: Argentine Designers).

photo (2)

And now, prepare to giggle, here are my attempts at rocking the runway lips (did I mention that I rarely wear anything but nude and light pink lipglosses?):

photo

Top left: Orange lips were all over the runway at New York Fashion Week. Possibly the hottest lip shade of the moment, models were seen with pumpkin pouts at DKNY (as pictured), Prabal Gurung, Rag & Bone, Suno, Creatures of the Wind, and Kyle Ericksen. According to the Huffington Post, it paired beautifully with everything from black and white to vivid florals. While Rag & Bone’s shade was completely matte and the exact color of a traffic cone, I chose a more wearable reddish orange for myself. I’m not sure how I feel about it, but I don’t totally hate it.

Try YSL Rouge Pure Shine Sheer in Orange Magic

orange lipstick

Top right: Brown lips were all the rage at 3.1 Phillip Lim, and I thought it looked fabulous on some models and just awful on others. The latter was the case for me, unfortunately, but c’est la vie. I do think a brown lip would be incredibly fresh and chic with the olive greens and burgundies of the fall, but in my case, I looked like I overdosed on chocolate fondue and couldn’t be bothered with a napkin. (Side note: I actually do know what this looks like because it happened the other night—I found the BEST recipe: combine one cup Nutella with one cup condensed milk in a saucepan over medium heat, stir until it thickens, and voila!)

Clearly, the brown lip is not for the faint of heart. But if you’re feeling ballsy, the makeup artists at 3.1 Phillip Lim created the look by filling in the lips with this liner:

Try Nars Lip Liner Pencil in Kenya

kenya

Bottom left: Dark purple lips were the focus at Marchesa, George Chinsee, Zac Posen, and Nicole Miller. I know it’s intense, but I think it’s the absolutely coolest look. It’s so gothic and sexy, and I especially love the contrast it creates with light blue and green eyes. I’m well aware that this is one of those looks that will terrify the male species, but I’m not phased by that. You shouldn’t be either! Go buy it. Wear it. Flaunt it. Love it.

Try Tom Ford’s Bruised Plum

bruised plum

Bottom right: Fuscia lips, or autumn’s version of this summer’s hot pink, were seen at DVF and Missoni. Love it. So fem, and I truly can’t think of a complexion that it doesn’t look lovely on. If you’re just beginning your transition into the bold lip, I recommend starting here.

Try M.A.C Pro Longwear in More to Love

fuscia

Alright girlies, what do you think? Can I pull off any of these looks? Don’t lie–I can take it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sophia permalink
    September 18, 2013 2:56 pm

    You look fab in all of them!! (seriously)

Leave a Reply

