Skip to content

Oil Spill: Six Skincare Oils I’m Obsessing Over

September 16, 2013

by Brittany Fischer

Oil is the bane of my existence. If there’s anything I despise about myself, it’s the sheen I get on my nose and forehead before the clock strikes noon, despite all my efforts to frost my face with every mattifying product on the market. My beloved college roommate Susan once told me I was “always a little bit shiny” and that it was “my thing.” Believe it or not, we’re still friends. (I think she was secretly mad at me for drinking all our Fresca. Yes, Fresca—am I dating myself?)

That being said, I’ve obviously stayed as far away as possible from all products that don’t basically have the words “OIL FREE” scrolled across the front in huge letters. And beauty oils? As if. The absolute last thing I would ever want to do is put more oil on my face, right? Wrong. I did my research, ran some tests, and concluded that the best way to drive out oil is with actually with more oil, ironic as it may seem. Turns out, beauty oils are a cure-all and can solve almost any skin problem you’ve got, be it oil, acne, dryness, or dullness. After poking around on the web for months, I’ve finally compiled a list of my top picks. Have at it!

Josie Maran Argan Oil is probably the most well-known of the face oils. It has a serious cult following, with a 4.5 star rating on Sephora.com and almost 5000 reviews. Whenever I see those kind of numbers, I’m on it like a fat kid in a buffet line, whipping out my debit card at the speed of light. I’ve used this oil on the reg for months, and I’m still loving it. There have been times when I’ve applied this oil at night when I’m feeling a gargantuan zit forming under my skin. I’ll be fully prepared to discover a monstrous growth on my face in the morning, but instead miraculously wake up to a perfectly clear complexion. This is the oil that has converted me (and many others) into an oil lover, and I consider it a loyal and trustworthy friend that will never let me down. Seriously, I’m in love.

Marula—Omega Rich Pure Marula Oil is even higher in antioxidants and omega 9 than Argan Oil, so it’s an obvious choice for anyone who loves Josie Maran. Beauty bloggers love it because it’s super light and fast-absorbing, leaving a completely matte finish. Other oils can be a tad . . . well, oily, but this one is perfect for someone like moi, who is absolutely terrified of shine.

Iris Moreau Precious Rose Serum smells absolutely divine. The scent is pure heaven, and apparently, so are the results. Make-up artist Iris Moreau created this high-quality organic oil by “stream distilling a whole rose, which results in a pure, crystal clear oil that gives all skin types an immediate vibrancy and healthy glow.” Fans call it “liquid gold” and I conquer; I would bathe in this if I could.

Rodin Oilio Lusso Luxury Face Oil is all the rage among celebs, including Adriana Lima and Stacy London. It’s made from a blend of 11 essential oils derived from flowers and botanicals, including sweet almond, evening primrose, sunflower, apricot seed, and jasmine. Backstage at the Victoria Secret fashion show, world-famous makeup artist Tom Pecheux once famously said, “It’s the one product every girl should have. Just massage, massage, massage!” The only negative thing I’ve heard about this one is that its jasmine scent is quite strong, and takes about an hour to go away. Mmmmm, that actually sounds lovely to me–I consider it a good thing! But, to all the sensitive nostrils out there: you’ve been warned.

Juno Transformative Lipid Serum calls itself a “rare, dry oil absolute that gives skin an obsession-worthy glow.” It’s patent-pending blend, so I know it’s gotta be good. The oils are extremely high in natural retinol, which has been proven to reduce wrinkles better than anything else. In other words, this might be the secret to eternal youth. Just sayin’.

Dr. Hauschka Normalizing Day Oil will no doubt be my next purchase. Dr. Hauschka has a groundbreaking approach to skincare that I’ve recently adopted, and the results have been seriously amazing. He says not to scrub your face or wear moisturizer at night. Yes, you heard me: stop exfoliating so much, and put down the night creme. It seems crazy, I know, but don’t you kind-of love any theory that means having fewer products? His claim is that all our scrubbing and moisturizing interferes the natural process of the skin, making it dependent on products just to be “normal.” This day oil, which you spritz on in the morning but skip at night, promises to, “balance excessive oiliness, diminish the appearance of pores and visibly reduce blemishes” while softening and strengthening the skin. I’m sold.

So there you have it, ladies. I never thought I’d say it, but . . . go ahead, grease up!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    September 16, 2013 12:15 pm

    Upon reflection (and public ridicule), shiny was a poor word choice. Of course I was trying to be complimentary, but I dug myself into a hole instead, apologies. Let me correct myself, I believe I was going for luminous!

    Cannot wait to try Iris Moreau Precious Rose Serum, thanks for the tips, keep them coming!

    Adoringly,
    Susan

    • September 16, 2013 1:50 pm

      Hahaha. Apology accepted my love. 🙂 And we both know “luminous” is a stretch…

      Also, the Iris Moreau Precious Rose Serum will be on sale on Gloss48 shortly after we launch! I think that would be a superb choice for you and your poreless, non-shiny skin. XOXO

  2. September 16, 2013 12:29 pm

    My skin type just like your sheen on my nose and forehead :). Your word using is interesting.

Leave a Reply

