Skip to content

The Best Curling Iron EVER

September 11, 2013

by Brittany Fischer

I rarely style my hair, as I’ve mentioned before. Typically I wash it, comb it, and let it air dry. Sometimes I’ll blowdry it and run a straightener through it, but my philosophy is, “Ain’t nobody got time for that!” more often than not. That said, approximately once a week (usually on a Saturday night when I’m feeling saucy), I get the urge to do something more with it. Curling it is always the answer. When my hair is curled, I feel put-together beyond belief and supremely sexy.

I’ve been using the Sultra Bombshell Curling Rod for years. For those of you who don’t know, it’s a long black rod with no clamp. It comes with a dorky bright pink heat-resistant glove that you wear as you wrap your hair around the rod, and then hold for about ten seconds. It’s fairly fool proof, but I can always find a way to mess something up. Sometimes I come out of it looking like a creepy 26-year-old Shirley Temple, and other times it looks like my hair is going to Prom but my outfit is going to a dive bar. Confusing. But most of the time, it just looks like the ends of my hair are slightly curled but the rest of my hair is straight.

Here’s why: the Sultra gives you the freedom to choose how much hair to curl at once, and how far up you’re going to curl it. For some people, this is a great thing. For me, this is a terrible thing. I unfailingly try to shorten the process by curling only the lower halves of huge sections of hair–so that hardly anything happens. Then, after being disappointed by those results time after time, I’ll decide to stop being lazy and I’ll try too hard, spending an hour curling teensy tiny sections of hair and realizing afterwards that I look completely insane.

Leave it to my mom to introduce me to the hottest new beauty trend. We were getting ready to go out for dinner together in Nantucket, and she whips out this little gizmo like it’s no big deal, and offhandedly mentions that you can only get it online because it’s European and not available in the US yet. How cool is she? It completely blew my mind! It’s called the Babyliss Miracurl Nano Titanium (what a mouthful), and it takes all of the guesswork out of curling. All of it! It does absolutely everything for you—it tells you exactly how much hair to put in (if it’s too big, it won’t accept it), and then it sucks it up, holds for the perfect amount of time, and spits out a perfect curl. It’s as if you’re keeping a Victoria Secret hairstylist in you’re bathroom cabinet. I. Am. OBSESSED.

Here are some pics of me using it for the first time—afterwards, I used the pointy end of a comb to separate the curls and make them look loose and natural, then sprayed the daylights out of it. What do you think?

Photo
5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 7:41 pm

    This looks amazing! It looks like magic 🙂

  2. October 2, 2013 2:38 pm

    I read a couple of reviews that mentioned hair getting caught in the rotary motor, and that you had to cut it off if that happened (otherwise it’s totally stuck to the heating element so it’ll burn off before you can untangle it). Any issues with that or suggestions for how to avoid?

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial Time: Victoria Secret Hair in 28 Minutes | The Glossy Pages by gloss48

Leave a Reply

