Skip to content

Beauty Inspiration: Pantone’s Fashion Color Report for Fall

September 6, 2013

by Brittany Fischer

If you’re anything like me, your summer beauty routine is very low-maintenance. Like, verrrrrry low maintenance. I live in Boston, and this summer has been an absolute scorcher, with humidity levels that rival the steam room at the gym. It has felt pretty pointless to layer on makeup that I know I will completely sweat off by the time I arrive at work. So I’ve simply been popping on a touch of lippie and a few swipes of mascara and calling it a day. And when it comes to my hair, I’ve been washing it (sometimes, anyway), combing it, and that’s about it.

But there’s a difference between being a low-maintenance hottie and, how shall I put it . . . a total slob. To be real, I think there were moments this summer when I was probably straddling the fence. For example, I recently realized I wasn’t putting in enough effort with my hair when I asked my boyfriend how I should wear my hair for date night and he replied, “I like it when it’s . . . dry.” I seriously wore my hair wet that often. Oy.

My nail routine was no less neglected. If you ask me, an immaculate manicure just doesn’t seem necessary for a day at the beach. My ideal “beach look” involves me looking like a mermaid washed ashore, with sexy waves, a stunning tan, and no mani whatsoever. The reality is just me looking like a makeup-less, manicure-less me, but whatever.

That said, autumn is just around the corner, and I am SO excited to grip my morning pumpkin spice lattes with immaculately glossy, perfectly pristine nails. I will accept nothing less. As I’m typing this, I’m already looking down at the sad state of my phalanges (ew, that’s honestly what they look like right now: phalanges) and dreaming of a soft new set of fingers adorned with an assortment of gold rings, and ten absurdly glassy, perfectly square nails. But hmmm, what color shall I start with . . . ?

Pantone (“the world-renowned authority on color”) recently put out their Fashion Color Report for Fall 2013. According to the experts, these these are the hottest hues for Fall. All I can say is: YUM. Well, I can actually say a little more: I’m totally obsessed. Starting on September 22 (the first day of Fall), I plan to rock every single one of these colors. I’ll start with Samba, a classic blood red, and move right into Carafe, an earthy cocoa. And Koi, a toasty orange, will be amazing as the leaves start to change—I can practically smell them now! Who knows, I may even be inspired to blow-dry my hair and put on my face every now and then. (Vivacious would be great as a lipstick, no? It’s totally calling my name, but let’s save that topic for another day, mon chou.)

What do you think of these hot new shades? I’d love to hear your favorites, and any other thoughts you have on fall, my absolute favorite season!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

