Skip to content

Suze Orman: Nail Polish is a Waste of Time and Money

June 19, 2013

Suze Orman is billed as a “personal finance guru.”   Well, Suze…Can I call you Suze?  Well, Suze, I respectfully disagree with the personal finance advice you recently imparted to a Filipino audience:

“Women, in particular, spend a lot of money on pedicures and manicures. If you just simply buffed your nails, you wouldn’t have to get a manicure more than once a month, because the only reason you go back to get manicures all the time is because your nail polish is chipped. And I’m an extremely wealthy woman and you don’t see me ever having nail polish on, because it’s such a waste of time and money.”

Ok.  I understand that mani pedis fall a bit lower than food and shelter on the basic human needs hierarchy, however, I think they are a reasonable indulgence.  Since the economic downturn, I have certainly pared back my purchases of expensive clothes, extravagant vacations, and sushi.  However, at some point, being frugal is exhausting and a girl’s gotta indulge.  It seems to me that a mani/pedi, when compared to a new dress, haircut and highlights (Suze!), or a trip to St Barts, getting my nails did is an excellent use of my time and money.

That’s just my opinion.  I could be wrong.  It’s happened before.

Video Source: Rappler.com

Click here to watch Suze on YouTube.

What do you think?  Are manis a waste of time and money or a reasonable indulgence?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. lanerbell permalink
    June 19, 2013 12:57 pm

    I will admit that sometimes they can be a waste of time when they chip the next day, but come on! A tiny indulgence in getting your nails done is nothing compared to other spa treatments women can indulge in.

    • June 19, 2013 1:18 pm

      I completely agree! I have a habit of messing up my mani within minutes of leaving the salon. I now stick to gel manis or salons that have a chip-free policy!

  2. Kathryn.Pearce7@gmail.com permalink
    June 19, 2013 4:30 pm

    One more reason i am not a S.O. fan!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. June 20, 2013 12:15 am

    I admire Suze Orman’s success but she is so opinionated that it can get very irritating.

    • June 20, 2013 8:25 am

      I think you can admire and respect her success, but choose to disagree with her – or decline a glass of wine with her should the offer ever present itself because she’s probably going to judge you for having your nails done!

  4. jodislater permalink*
    June 23, 2013 3:36 pm

    Mani / pedis are one of my favorite-all-time-indulgences… It is not even the polish (although I love that too) but just the experience of getting all cleaned up and THEN adding a splash of color. I dunno, seems like SUZE is off base on this one!

  5. Michelle Ramos permalink
    June 25, 2013 9:03 pm

    I buy my own polish and have everything I need at home to give myself a perfect mani. It makes me feel good so it’s worth what I spent on the bottle.

Leave a Reply

