Skip to content

Simmer Down, Stressypants!

April 3, 2013

I am a big ball of stress these days.  I usually function at a fairly high level of stress.  I’m one of those people who thrives on it.  However, recently, I’ve found myself, teeth clenched, getting pissy about really, really insignificant things.  It’s exhausting.  And it’s starting to give me headaches.  And I’m also going to blame my stress levels for my recent, 7th-grade-esque breakout – which surely has nothing to do with the snail slime mask I sampled last week.

stressed-woman-cartoon

I need to do something to manage this other than indulging in Easter candy and watching Game of Thrones while shopping on my iPad.

Here are a few things I pledge to do to break my stressy spell:

  1. Gain some perspective.  I was recently asked to join a bunch of female entrepreneurs for a walk around the river.  I love the idea of (1) connecting with superstar women (2) outside (3) while doing something that I actually want to be doing.  Sign me up!
  2. Hit the gym.  I’m hating the gym these days because it’s a reminder that, even though it’s officially Spring, Boston still thinks it’s winter.  However, when I’m finished with my workout, I always feel better.  I just need to ignore that nagging urge to bail on the gym to indulge in Easter candy…
  3. Separate home, work, and quiet time.  I was recently talking to an amazing woman who started her first business 40 years ago, raised three children, and sits on several different charitable boards.  She’s a powerhouse.  Her big piece of advice for me was to throw myself into work while I’m at work, focus on home while I’m at home, and embrace moments of silence in the car, shower, etc.
  4. Get a massage.  I really don’t have time for a day at the spa, but I can spare 30 minutes.  I’m going to squeeze in time for a massage, even if it’s not the idyllic, sit around in my spa robe and drink green tea session.

What do you do to de-stress?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2013 11:26 am

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

