Skip to content

Baby Botox? How young is too young?

March 27, 2013

Before I tackle today’s topic, I’ll give you a quick update on the snail slime outcome.  For those of you who missed my last post, I daringly sampled the MISSHA Super Aqua Snail Hydro Mask.  Two days later, I don’t notice a big difference in my skin.  I also didn’t break out in hives or turn green.  To be fair, it probably takes more than one use to see any results.

Source: Cynical-C.com

Source: Cynical-C.com

When I was in my 20’s, I worked in the corporate office of a major clothing company.  It seemed like everyone around me was openly discussing and participating in some form of medical skincare.  I once found myself trapped in an elevator, discussing business, with colleague who was fresh from her acid peel.  She looked like the evil villain in a sci-fi movie who is seeking revenge for his deformities, but she apparently felt comfortable attending meetings with only her baseball cap to shield her.

Even the twenty-somethings in our office were dabbling in Botox.  I remember when a co-worker revealed that she was going to get Botox for the first time.  She pointed to a crease between her eyebrows (which was really only there when she furrowed her brow) and told me that she needed to start treating it now or it would be far worse in her thirties.

It seems like serious skincare measures are starting younger and younger.  It was common conversation among my co-workers.  Does a 25-year-old really need Botox?  Does a 40-year-old need a facelift?  I understand that some of these skincare procedures are preventative, but what is the right age to begin them?

On the positive side, women are taking better care of their skin from an earlier age.  Younger women understand that staying out of the sun, never sleeping in makeup, using moisturizer, etc. will all positively impact the future state of their skin.

What do you think?  When is it acceptable to have your first medical skincare procedure?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

