Skip to content

Beauty Survivor Style: Snail Slime Mask

March 25, 2013

If I were on the TV show Survivor, my downfall would be the scary eating challenges – scorpions,  cow blood, seafood smoothies…I admit I had a far milder, but similar reaction to the MISSHA Super Aqua Cell Renewal Snail Hydro-Gel Mask that I received in my Glossybox.  While I understand that applying snail slime extract to one’s face might be completely normal for some (a precious delicacy like cow blood, perhaps), it makes me shiver a bit.  But I persevered in the name of beauty!

MISSHA Cell Renew Snail Hydo-Gel Mask

MISSHA Cell Renew Snail Hydo-Gel Mask

Not surprisingly, this trend comes to us courtesy of our brave beauty pioneers in Korea.  According to CNN Article Snail Cream: Korea’s newest sin-care phenomenon, snail cream “soothes, regenerates and heals skin,” says Jeong Chang-hyun, deputy head of product planning for MISSHA.  According to the article, the high quality snails are fed red ginseng to ensure high quality slime.  Ok, I will take their word for it.

MISSHA Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail CreamSource: MISSHA

MISSHA Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Cream
Source: MISSHA

Deeeep breath.  Here we go.  The mask is, not surprisingly, slimy.  I had a hard time separating it from the plastic backing.  In the process, I left a little snail trail on on the counter and the floor.  Once I transferred the mask to my face, it was easier to get it situated – although my face is apparently not quite the right size/shape as it was a bit droopy around the edges.  The mask had a light, pleasant aloe-like scent and, once I got over the whole snail slime part, it was soothing and cool.

Me in my snail slime mask - trying not to laugh for obvious reasons!

Me in my snail slime mask – trying not to laugh for obvious reasons!

Fast forward 20 minutes.  MISSHA recommends leaving the mask on for 20-40 minutes.  My mask started to fall off after about 20 minutes – in part because my husband discovered me wearing my mask and I couldn’t help laughing as I explained that I was applying high quality snail slime to my face.

I have to admit.  It did leave my skin soft and dewy.  I’m not sure it did a whole lot more than my normal, anti-aging serum, but it feels nice.  Only time will tell.

The tribe has spoken.

Would you try a snail slime mask?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2013 11:23 am

    I love Korean face mask sheets! They will be the next big thing to come out of Korea after BB Cream.

Leave a Reply

