Skip to content

Must Have Beauty Products If You’re Stranded on a Deserted Island

February 8, 2013

by Guest Glossist Sara Cornell, Blue Blinds Media

While primping to go out the other night, my son was chatting with me as we played the “Stranded on a Deserted Island” game – you know, the one where you are trapped in said environment and can only have 3, 5 or however many items to make your situation better or easier.   At one point he looked at my dressing table full of lotions and potions and announced that I’d never make it without all my “girl stuff”, as he referred to it.  He’s probably right, but keep in mind that “my” deserted island always has WiFi, a universal charging station and potable water… Driving to my event, I began to ponder what 5 beauty items I would take to the deserted island if I truly had to limit myself to the absolute, I can’t live without them essentials.  I came up with this list:

  1. Clarisonic Mia:  If you don’t have one of these sonic skin care brushes, stop what you’re doing and go get one.  This brush will clean your skin on a daily basis better than any fancy facial.  It sloughs away dead skin leaving you glowing and fresh, and it also prepares the skin to better absorb creams and serums.  I swear my skin looks 10 years younger after 3 months of daily use.

    Clarisonic Mia

    Clarisonic Mia

  2. Organic Sesame Oil:  I learned about this while taking an Ayurvedic class a few years ago.  Sesame oil is compatible with all the doshas, which means it’s good for you, no matter what!  Every day I slather about ¼ cup (yes, you read that right) from head to toe in lieu of lotion or moisturizer.  My skin is softer, more pliable, less prone to burning and breakouts, and it smells really good.  It won’t leave you greasy, but definitely wait a few minutes before getting dressed so you don’t smudge on your nice silk blouse.

    Organic Sesame Seed Oil

    Aura Cacia Organics
    Organic Sesame Oil

  3. La Mer The Concentrate:  Yes, it’s prohibitively expensive, and yes, it looks like you’re slathering semen all over your face, but the stuff is divine, and leaves a soft, velvety canvas for your makeup adventure.  And the fact that I can indulge in The Concentrate and still pay the mortgage makes me feel successful, and feeling successful and competent makes everyone look better.  Even if that success costs $400 for less than 2oz…

    La Mer Concentrate

    La Mer Concentrate

  4. Daily (Spray) Makeup Brush Cleanser:  There is nothing worse than rushing to finish your makeup and have the color come out all wrong because you are using a dirty brush with multiple shades on it.  And who really has the time to properly shampoo your makeup brush after every use?  Those spray bottles of anti-bacterial brush cleaner are a life saver and a time saver.  Just spray the brush, wipe it on a makeup remover sheet (my special trick) and you’re good to go.  No more raccoon eyes when you’re going for light and airy, and since your tools are clean, you may have even prevented a nasty eye infection, which would put a damper on any look.

    Sephora Daily Makeup Brush Cleaner

    Sephora Daily Makeup Brush Cleaner

  5. SPF40 Sunblock:  Seriously.  Who goes to a deserted island without sunblock?  My favorite is Sun Block Daytime Moisturizer by Janson Beckett, in SPF 40.  It’s light, silky smooth, blends quickly and easily, doesn’t leave a weird residue on your skin, and smells fresh.  And it comes in a purse friendly size pump bottle for touchups.
    Sun Block Daytime Moisturizer

    Sun Block Daytime Moisturizer

    Which products would you take to a deserted island?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

