Skip to content

Temple of Beauty and Fashion: Galeries Lafayette

January 16, 2013

As I mentioned in my last post, department store cosmetic counters are not really my thing.  For starters, each product I use is from a different brand.  Sitting at a counter to get a face full of MAC is fun, but it’s unlikely that I’m going to buy more than one item.  Then I feel bad because a lovely makeup artist has just spent a significant amount of time on me to sell me one, $13 lipstick.  I would rather avoid the sales pressure and shop online.

HOWEVER, this temple of beauty and fashion makes me want to get all done up at the makeup counter and leave the store with a fresh face and gobs of shopping bags!  This is the Galeries Lafayette, one of the oldest department stores in Paris.  It was built in 1893 near the Opera Garnier (one of my favorite Parisian sights!).

Galeries Lafayette Atrium

Galeries Lafayette Atrium

Galeries Lafayette Makeup Counters

Galeries Lafayette Makeup Counters

It is awe – and shopping – inspiring!

Are you a fan of the makeup counter?  Where do you go to “feel pretty”?

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

