Skip to content

Celeb Makeup Lines – You Buying It?

December 12, 2012

Recently, Women’s Wear Daily reported that Drew Barrymore is working on a full makeup line for Walmart.  It got me wondering about celeb makeup lines – not to mention the Drew/Walmart partnership.

Do I really value a makeup line more because a celebrity has “designed” it?  In Drew’s case, probably not.  It’s a personal matter.  She just doesn’t give me that “I would lurve to look like her” response that I would never admit out loud – until now, apparently!

Who would be my celeb of choice for a makeup line?  Since my beauty style is fairly minimalist/classic, I think I would go with Rachel Bilson.  If she came out with a haircare line, it would be an even stronger sell.

Rachel BilsonSource: BellaSugar.au

Rachel Bilson
Source: BellaSugar.au

I also fully understand and support partnerships like the Nicki Minaj OPI nail polish collection and the Katy Perry faux lashes.

Nicki Minaj for OPI

Nicki Minaj for OPI

In the end, I think I would rather see products from celeb makeup artists.  These are the true experts – the miracle workers who cover every flaw, every day!  Some of my favorite makeup lines are from celeb makeup artists – Sonia Kashuk, Laura Mercier, Yvette Beebe, Brett Freedman’s VanityMark.  These are the people who really know their stuff – the artists behind the artists.

What do you think?  Would you be more interested in a makeup line from your favorite celeb or from her makeup artist?

If you could choose a celebrity to design a makeup line, who would it be?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

