Skip to content

Latest Obsession: Laura Mercier Caviar Eye Sticks

November 16, 2012

I recently went a bit darker with my do, so I turned to one of our fave makeup artists, Jessica Berndt, to help me with a new “look”. Turned out she was spending the day at a national event at Bloomies for Laura Mercier, so I saddled on up at her makeup station and had her work  her magic.

I’m a huge Laura Mercier fan. I love her skincare, I love her makeup. Of course I experiment liberally with other brands, but somehow I always come back to Laura Mercier for the basic staples.  Jessica outfitted me with a new foundation, concealer, lipstick (one for sweatpants days, one for put-together days), and this awesome lip stuff called Flawless Skin Lip Silk – seriously one of the best lip balms I’ve ever tried.

But the really exciting beauties that Jessica introduced me to were the Laura Mercier Caviar Eye Sticks in Khaki and Amethyst. These wonder pens are sticks of creamy but just-sticky-enough color that you can apply with a brush or your finger. I use my finger to apply the base color (Amethyst) all over my lid and then my Real Techniques Shading Brush to apply the crease color (Khaki).  Side note: if you are like me and would rather spend your spare $9000 on a Birkin bag than on fancy makeup brushes, Real Techniques has some fantastic quality brushes at very reasonable prices. And, the founder has loads of amazing how-to videos for reference.

I’m usually not a big eye-shadow person due to time and artistic ability limitations. But these sticks are smooth and silky, so easy to use and just subtle enough so that mistakes aren’t that obvious.

What’s your latest makeup obsession?????

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2012 11:51 am

    Love the Real Techniques shout-out! 🙂 Love those brushes.

    http://wearyourvitamins.com

Leave a Reply

