Skip to content

Tights As Pants and Other Trends You’ll Regret

November 14, 2012
Arden B. Mini Dress

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of hitting the Boston bar scene.  I’ve been on hiatus from just about all nightlife post-10pm since I just had a baby – and because I’m not 22 anymore.

For those of you who are not familiar with Beantown nightlife, it is dominated by 18- to 22-year-olds thanks to several universities in the area.  As we walked through Faneuil Hall to get to the bar, I noticed that all of the college girls were wearing mini dresses and stiletto heels.  When I say I “noticed”, that’s putting it mildly – we were stuck behind a row of 5 ladies, walking arm in arm, as they stumbled over the cobblestone in their Kardashian-esque heels.

Jessica Simpson Heels Zappos.com

Jessica Simpson Heels Zappos.com

Channeling my best middle-aged mom voice, I asked my friends “Who let them leave the house like that?”

You may remember your college years as your fittest days, best shape of your life.  My friends and I were more doughy and pale.  We weren’t fat.  In fact, we thought we were pretty cute, but we were definitely either beer-bloated or not yet slimmed out.  We did NOT belong in mini dresses and stilettos!

Thankfully for me, fashion was much more forgiving when I was in college.  A fitted pair of black “sorority” pants and a spaghetti strap tank top were considered sexy.  Girls these days have it much tougher with unkind fashions like tights as pants, teeny shorts, and mini dresses.

I have no sage advice for the unlucky ladies of the Class of 2015.  Hang in there!  Fashion has a way of repeating itself.  I can only hope that, someday, these girls will get to experience the blissful comfort of the 1990’s flannel shirts and jeans look!

My So Called Life

My So Called Life

Which trends are you hoping will pass sooner rather than later?  Which trends would you like to see make a comeback?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

