Skip to content

Luxury

November 9, 2012

Luxury is something that most of us feel is out of reach.  I certainly can’t walk into a Prada store and pick out a few purses or feel a crick in my neck and cancel my plans for the day to have a massage.  I can’t open my closet, and finding nothing appropriate for an event go to Chanel to have something made for me.  When I need a vacation, I can’t look for 5 star hotels or spas in exotic locales.  No, luxury is something only the very rich can obtain while the rest of us dream.

Lauren Rinehart | Girl About Town

The only luxury that is accessible to most of us happens to be beauty products.  Even the most frugal people often have luxury products they sneak into their budgets.  Some women will use generic brand hand lotion, but keep a stash of Estee Lauder night cream.  Some men will buy any soap that’s cheapest, but insist on top shelf aftershave.  I personally couldn’t live without my $26 tub of Skin, an Apothecary Soy Body Whip even though I probably won’t spend more than $5 for shampoo and conditioner.  There is something about having a product you can imagine on a celebrity’s bathroom shelf on your bathroom shelf that adds a kick to your step in the mornings and a little extra glitz to going out at night.  That boost you feel dabbing an expensive cream under your eyes is luxury, which sort of mirrors the feeling of being taken care of or appreciated.

The only thing better than treating yourself to a luxury beauty product is getting it on sale!  When there’s no guilt involved, it’s a win-win.  That’s why we love companies like gloss48 – they make luxury even more accessible and trying new products fun and exciting.

What are some of the luxuries you can’t live without?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bunny permalink
    November 12, 2012 7:10 am

    My indulgence is delicious moisturizer for my face. I resisted for a long time but now realize that it is basic to looking good no matter what your makeup (within reason!)

  2. Carrie permalink
    November 13, 2012 3:03 pm

    An eye mask! Once my eyes get that baggy look and the fine lines start becoming less “fine” I turn to an eye mask to moisturize and brighten. After 15 minutes I look fresh and young again – no bag lady here!

Trackbacks

  1. Somme Institute Skincare hosted by GLOSS BOSS Lauren R. | The Glossy Pages by gloss48

Leave a Reply

