Skip to content

FallOut

October 17, 2012

‘Tis the season to be snotty.  Just about everyone around me has a cold.  Seriously.  Everyone.  In retaliation, I have been dousing myself in hand sanitizer.  I would drink it if I thought it would fend off the runnies!

As a result, my hands – particularly my cuticles – are starting to dry and crack. I’ve come up with my plan of attack to battle cold weather germs without my hands falling off:

Hand Sanitizer.

While the drugstore gel is easily-accessible and low cost, there are better ways to defend your digits!  My favorite hand sanitizer (yes, I have a favorite hand sanitizer) is from Eve Echo.  I prefer the delicious, fresh mango scent, but it also comes in lavender.  The best part is that Eve Echo lends 100% of its profits to FINCA, a microfinance agency that funds women-owned startups around the world.  I ordered a set of these lovelies and keep them in my purse, bathroom, and car.

Cuticle Oil

I spent a lot of time in the mani/pedi biz so I’m a little snobby about my cuticle oil.  The major cuticle oils on the markets are seriously lacking.  You know the one.  It’s sold in 99% of salons and it’s almost entirely sweet almond oil.  For a more nourishing/dynamic/exceptional/cheaper(!) product, check out Bee Naturals Cuticle Oil.  It’s a fabulous blend of natural ingredients, including jojoba oil  and grapeseed oil to moisturize, Vitamin E to nourish, tea tree to fight infection, and lavender and lemon to give it a fresh, clean scent.

I apply cuticle oil at night and rub it into my nails and cuticles.  If I’m feeling extra scaly, I will also rub it all over my hands.

Hand Cream

I carry hand cream with me everywhere I go.  In the interest of full disclosure, I own several different brands!  My favorite product for heavy duty moisturizing is Crabtree & Evelyn’s Gardeners Hand Therapy.  It’s shea-butter based with a light, warm scent.  I like it because it’s incredibly moisturizing without being greasy.  I’m not a huge fan of products that smell like perfume or candy so I dig this light, warm, natural scent.

What are you going to do to survive the long winter?  Apart from hunkering down to another season of Revenge, of course!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

