Skip to content

For Frizzle

October 10, 2012
Frizzy Hair

I recently received an email from a close friend asking for advice on products to tame frizzy hair.  It was a group email – written to 5 women who all have thick, frizz-prone hair.  I would have been mildly offended except that she must think that I have solved the problem and have fabulous, silky smooth hair.  Right?  RIGHT?!

Here’s my guide to fighting frizz from someone who has (maybe/sometimes) managed to tame the beast:

  1. Wash your hair every other day.  I realize this is the cardinal rule to fighting fly-aways, but I have never been able to follow it.  My hair actually looks better on dirty days, but it makes me feel greasy when I don’t wash it.  This is completely irrational, but if it’s the craziest thing I do all day, I’m in good shape!
  2. Invest in a good conditioner.  In response to the aforementioned email, my friend Tina and I both wholeheartedly recommended Living Proof No Frizz products.  These products are a bit more expensive than the drugstore brands, but they are far more effective.  The line was designed by MIT scientists who threw out conventional hair solutions and took a scientific approach to fighting frizz.  The good news is that these products are super effective.  The bad news is you have to commit to using them regularly – they are not an instant fix.  Living Proof No Frizz
  3. Blow dry and bind. If you have long, thick hair, it might be helpful to blow dry it, apply a finishing serum (I like Moroccan Oil), and then twist it up into a bun for your commute to work.  By the time you get to work, your hair will finish drying with a smooth frizz-free finish.
  4. Fro-mergency.  I highly recommend an on-the-go frizz fighter, particularly for those surprisingly muggy or humid days.  This gem from John Frieda is a smoothing steal at roughly $8.00.  Run the applicator wand over the top of your hair to tame flyaways.

What are you smoothing secret weapons?  Do tell!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jillkravetz permalink*
    October 10, 2012 7:37 pm

    I can’t help but wonder — that is a spitting image of ME!

  2. October 10, 2012 8:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing … I have baby fine hair that frizzes in an instant and will give all your suggestions a try.
    I am also a lover of Moroccan Oil – but a friend just shared her secret of using organic coconut oil on hers and it really does work. (I like the sent of the MO better)
    Given our fabulous weather today – your timing was perfect.

    Hugs

    • jillkravetz permalink*
      October 15, 2012 7:33 pm

      Kathy you have BEAUTIFUL hair!!! 🙂

  3. October 10, 2012 11:12 pm

    Jill, your hair is way curlier than hers. Otherwise the likeness is uncanny.

Trackbacks

  1. Fro-day: Best Anti-Frizz Products for Curly Hair | The Glossy Pages by gloss48

Leave a Reply

