Skip to content

Updating Your Makeup Wardrobe | Seasonal Makeup

June 12, 2012

Courtney | Barefoot in Boston

It’s funny how we ladies (and some Mr.’s out there) change our makeup like we change our wardrobe for seasons. I happen to love it! Just when you start to get a little tired of one season, the next season is right around the corner!

Spring: When I think of makeup for Spring I think of a “Miss Dior” advertisement. You know, pretty pink lips, rosy cheeks…maybe a faint lilac shadow brushed across the eye-lid, light on the eye liner and one coat of mascara on the lashes…no Kardashian lashes! Spring is light and airy and so should your make –up!

Spring | Summer

Summer: Ah, you should have a good base tan by now…in the summer I like to only use the bare minimal. I will typically wash my face, apply a face cream with spf 20 or higher…if my tan isn’t up to par yet, I’ll sweep a medium bronzer over my cheeks, nose and forehead (making sure to blend well.) I love the “just off the beach” look for summer…it’s pretty much all about the skin. I’ll use a “goldish” shadow on my lids, light liner (only on the top) and mascara. Top the look off with a clear or light pink gloss and you’re good to go! For evening in the summer, just add a little more eyeliner and smudge to create a sultrier look.

Fall: The weather has cooled a bit but your makeup is getting warmer! For the fall, I like to keep the skin warm by adding a little bit of bronzer. I also think now is the time to start bringing back a pop of color to the lip. I tend to gravitate towards berry colors…it gives your face a little pop! As for the eyes, a light almond color shadow with a hint of shimmer, eye-liner and mascara and you are good to go!

Fall | Winter

Winter: It’s cold and dreary but that doesn’t mean you have to be! I love winter make up because you can really be bold, and with the holiday season you can really play up the shimmer and sparkle! I love a smoky charcoal shadow with a shimmer swept over it, smudged eye-liner and lots of mascara! (add individual lashes to the ends for more drama.) Now is the time to bring out the bright red lipstick! Red lips just make you feel like you’re ready to head to a holiday party! I usually pair a classic eye (champagne shadow, black liner & mascara) with a bold lip…we don’t want to look like a clown ladies!

*Photos unknown

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

